Setting & Revisiting Reachable Goals

I’m ten days late on talking about New Year’s resolutions and goals. However, I think it’s important to set goals no matter what day of the year it is. Goals give you something to work toward and the reward afterward gives you something to look forward to. If we aren’t working toward something, then are we making progress at all? Or, are we just sitting still and stagnant letting life pass us by? As Newton’s First Law of Motion states, “An object in motion stays in motion.” So, if we are constantly in motion moving forward to our goals, we will be more likely to always have goals and make progress in everyday life. Now, I’m not saying you must accomplish every goal you set. You can set a deadline for yourself but if you don’t quite make it, don’t beat yourself up. The important thing is that you were self-disciplined enough to get as far as you have. I’ll give you an example here: Last year, I wrote a list of goals for myself on a sticky note and put it on my bathroom mirror. I looked at this list every day. One of the items on the list was to publish a book. Here it is a year later and I haven’t published a book; not even a short story. However, I have done a lot of research on the topic and have realized that it was silly of me to set such a high goal. I am all for setting high goals and making yourself work for it. But, I realized that, since I didn’t know much about publishing, I had to change my goal to something that was a little more reachable.

At the start of 2017, I wanted to revisit my goal of publishing a book. I now have a goal to write 750 words per day. I have it figured that if I write 750 words per day, I can have my book finished in three months (based on a 60,000 word count as per advice from Beth Revis in Paper Hearts Vol. 1). If I up my word count by just a little, and write 1,000 words per day, I can have my book finished in two months. Now, this is a goal I can stick with. I have chosen not to worry too much with publishing until I actually have the book written. But even when I have the book written, I may not publish until I have the entire series written. I’ve noticed that I tend to shy away from things once I begin to rush myself I start to feel overwhelmed. I’m still in the stages of feeling like my work isn’t good enough or worthy enough to be published, which I know is probably ridiculous. But this feeling helps me not be in a rush to get my work published.

So, to wrap up this blog, set goals! And, if you have goals that you didn’t quite accomplish, it’s ok! Revisit your goals and tweak them a little. There’s nothing wrong with breaking down your goals into reachable steps. If you’re an aspiring writer and are looking for advice on writing or publishing, check out Beth Revis’ Paper Hearts books (links below).

Paper Hearts Volume 1: Some writing advice.

Paper Hearts Volume 2: Some publishing advice.

Paper Hearts Volume 3: Some marketing advice.

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Really helpful pointers !!
    Thanks very a lot. It really is a good sensation when i’m checking out a message like your own.
    I’m so happy I found your blog, your writing is really excellent. Not every person composes for the same factor, yet yours is actually amazing.
    Terrific ideas and excellent blog post total!
    Thank you for sharing

    Like

Leave a Reply

